Δευτέρα, 30 Μαΐου 2011

AMON AMARTH Guitarists Show You How To Play 'War Of The Gods' Intro (Video)

In the video below, Johan Söderberg and Olavi Mikkonen of Swedish death metallers AMON AMARTH talk to Guitar World magazine about their gear set-up and show you how to play the intro to "War Of The Gods", the opening track to their new album, "Sulfur Rising".

This video is bonus content related to the July 2011 issue of Guitar World.

For full print reviews, lesson tabs and more, look for the July 2011 issue of Guitar World on newsstands now.

"Surtur Rising", the eighth studio album from AMON AMARTH, sold around 15,000 copies in the United States in its first week of release to debut at position No. 34 on The Billboard 200 chart. The band's previous CD, "Twilight of the Thunder God", opened with more than 11,000 copies back in 2008 to land at No. 48.

Named in tribute to Surtur, leader of the fire giants of Muspelheim ("flame land") and the oldest being in the nine worlds of Norse mythology, "Surtur Rising", which came out in North America on March 29 via Metal Blade Records, features 10 tracks of sword-wielding, fist-pumping, hyper climactic battle anthems. The album was once again recorded at Fascination Street Studios in Örebro, Sweden with Jens Bogren and features strikingly brutal cover art by Tom Thiel.

source: blabbermouth

Τετάρτη, 18 Μαΐου 2011

RONNIE JAMES DIO: 'Mightier Than The Sword' Compilation Due Next Month

A new Ronnie James Dio compilation album, entitled "Mightier Than The Sword: The Ronnie James Dio Story", will be released in the U.K. on June 6 via Sanctuary. The two-disc collection will feature tracks from ELF, RAINBOW, BLACK SABBATH, DIO and HEAVEN & HELL, as well as Dio's solo material.

The track listing is as follows:

Disc 1:

01. Carolina County Ball (ELF)
02. Love Is All (RONNIE JAMES DIO)
03. The Temple Of The King (RAINBOW)
04. Catch The Rainbow (RAINBOW)
05. Stargazer (RAINBOW)
06. Run With The Wolf (RAINBOW)
07. Kill The King (RAINBOW)
08. Long Live Rock 'N' Roll (RAINBOW)
09. Lady Of The Lake (RAINBOW)
10. Gates Of Babylon (RAINBOW)
11. Die Young (BLACK SABBATH)
12. Heaven And Hell (BLACK SABBATH)
13. Children Of The Sea (BLACK SABBATH)

Disc 2:

01. The Mob Rules (BLACK SABBATH)
02. Voodoo (BLACK SABBATH)
03. Country Girl (BLACK SABBATH)
04. Holy Diver (DIO)
05. Rainbow In The Dark (DIO)
06. We Rock (DIO)
07. Rock 'N' Roll Children (DIO)
08. All The Fools Sailed Away (DIO)
10. Push (DIO)
11. One More For The Road (DIO)
12. Shadow Of The Wind (BLACK SABBATH)
13. Neon Knights (HEAVEN & HELL)
14. Bible Black (HEAVEN & HELL)
source: blabbermouth

Τρίτη, 17 Μαΐου 2011

THE GATHERING: New Song Available For Free Download

"Heroes For Ghosts", a brand new song from Dutch/Norwegian rockers THE GATHERING, is available for free download at the group's Bandcamp page. You can choose between various formats, such as mp3 320k or VBR, FLAC, ACC, ALAC and Ogg Vobis.
Comments the band:
"'Heroes For Ghost' is a song which will appear on our new album, title and release date [to be announced].
"We will play this song live in the Netherlands (May/June) and during our South American 'Ghost Ride Tour'. We thought it would be nice if you people already know the song a bit so you can sing with us. "We hope you will like it as much as we do. We think we made something really special. On top of this, our friend Marcus Moonen is also busy with a video clip (or short movie). We will let you know when it's finished. In the meantime, enjoy! (and yes, it's totally for free!"
THE GATHERING's latest album, "The West Pole", was released in North America on June 2, 2009 via Season of Mist. The CD was issued in most of Europe on May 4, 2009 via the group's own label, Psychonaut Records.
"The West Pole" marks the recording debut of new THE GATHERING singer Silje Wergeland, who was previously in the Norwegian band OCTAVIA SPERATI. It also includes two very talented guest vocalists, Anne van den Hoogen and Marcela Bovio (STREAM OF PASSION), along with other guest musicians.
Singer Anneke van Giersbergen announced her departure from THE GATHERING in 2007. She has since launched a project called AGUA DE ANNIQUE, which has released three albums so far: "Air" (2007), "Pure Air" (2009) and "In Your Room" (2009).
source: Blabbermouth.net

Σάββατο, 14 Μαΐου 2011

ARCH ENEMY: Third 'Khaos Legions' Trailer Released

The third trailer for "Khaos Legions", the ninth studio album from Swedish/German extreme metallers ARCH ENEMY, can be viewed below. Due on May 30 in Europe and June 7 in the U.S. via Century Media Records, the CD will mark the band's return to new, original material, after the release of the "Tyrants Of The Rising Sun - Live In Japan" live DVD/CD (2008) and the re-recordings album, "The Root Of All Evil" (2009). The effort was tracked at Sweet Spot Studio in the south of Sweden with engineer Rickard Bengtsson (who produced 2005's "Doomsday Machine").

The "Khaos Legions" artwork, which comes courtesy of renowned artist Brent Elliott White (MEGADETH, DEATH ANGEL), can be viewed below.

"Khaos Legions" track listing:

01. Khaos Overture (instrumental)
02. Yesterday Is Dead And Gone
03. Bloodstained Cross
04. Under Black Flags We March
05. No Gods, No Masters
06. City Of The Dead
07. Through The Eyes Of A Raven
08. Cruelty Without Beauty
09. We Are A Godless Entity (instrumental)
10. Cult Of Chaos
11. Thorns In My Flesh
12. Turn To Dust (instrumental)
13. Vengeance Is Mine
14. Secrets
15. The Zoo
16. Snow Bound (acoustic)

ARCH ENEMY has launched an online pre-order for "Khaos Legions". In addition to ensuring a prompt delivery of the highly anticipated album on release day, all North American pre-orders will receive an autographed ARCH ENEMY photo, a code for a free bonus download of the live song "Dark Insanity" (recorded at the Metal Female Voices Fest 2010) via email when the album drops, and be entered to win weekly prizes from Altec Lansing's line of award-winning audio products. Head over to this location for full details on the pre-order contest, exclusive download, and all the available "Khaos Legions" pre-order packages.

"Khaos Legions" third trailer:

source: Blabbermouth.net

Πέμπτη, 12 Μαΐου 2011

TARJA TURUNEN Performs With THE 69 EYES Singer On Finnish TV (Video)

Former NIGHTWISH frontwoman Tarja Turunen performed a duet with Jyrki 69 from THE 69 EYES during the "Idols Tekee Hyvää" live TV broadcast on the Finnish channel MTV3 on Easter Sunday, April 24. The proceeds of the event, which brought the popular American format "Idol Gives Back" to Finland for the first time, were being directed to education projects for children and teenagers in poverty-stricken countries such as Haiti and Cambodia.

You can watch video footage of the performance below.

Turunen released a new digital-only single, "Underneath", on April 22. The three-song single was made available Austria, Switzerland, Russia, Poland, Finland, Sweden, Ukraine, France and U.K. It includes two unreleased versions of the beautiful ballad "Underneath" plus a non-album track in Spanish language.

"Underneath" track listing:

01. Underneath (radio mix)
02. Underneath (orchestral mix)
03. Montañas De Silencio

In North America, the single will be released on May 24 as an exclusive limited edition seven-inch vinyl with two tracks: "Underneath" (radio mix) and "Underneath" (orchestral mix).

Tarja's sophomore solo album, "What Lies Beneath", sold around 1,300 copies in the United States in its first week of release. The CD landed at position No. 24 on the Top New Artist Albums (Heatseekers) chart, which lists the best-selling albums by new and developing artists, defined as those who have never appeared in the Top 100 of The Billboard 200.
source: Blabbermouth